I Saw Nothing: The Extinction of the Thylacine

Author(s): Gary Crew

Children's & YA

Rosie never liked Elias Churchill, and she liked him even less when he trapped the last tiger-wolf ever to be seen. Churchill didn t kill the tiger-wolf for its bounty he bundled it into a cage, scratched and bloody, and sent it by train to some unknown place. It was moaning and sad. It liked its freedom, Rosie could tell, just as much as her father had, before he died in the bush after being trapped under a log for three days. Then Rosie and her mother had to move to Hobart to work, but it was the Depression and it was hard, especially if you re from the country. Thylacine was the proper name for a tiger-wolf, according to Alison Reid, the lady at Hobart Zoo whose father had died too. She said that this one may be the last in existence. It was Rosie s thylacine! The very one she saw that day on the train. But on September 7, 1936, it died. Was Rosie that last person to see the thylacine alive and free in the wild? Could she have done anything to save it being captured, saving all thylacines from extinction? The first book in the Extinct Series, I SAW NOTHING - EXTINCTION OF THE THYLACINE introduces a wonderful sense of intrigue and dilemma that the following two stories will explore with classic Crew style and authenticity. The subdued illustrations capture the rough, bushy characters.


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Gary Crew has an outstanding reputation as a writer of Young Adult fiction and innovative picture books. His numerous prizes and awards include CBC Book of the Year: Older Readers for STRANGE OBJECTS and ANGEL'S GATE (1991 and 1994) which also received widespread international recognition; CBC Honour Book for MEMORIAL (2000), CBC Picture Book of the Year for FIRST LIGHT (1994); CBC Picture Book of the Year for THE WATERTOWER (1995); THE LOST DIAMONDS OF KILLIECRANKIE was a notable book in 1996. He is also the author of THE VIEWER and MAMA'S BABIES, which were CBC Notable Books for 1998 and 1999 respectively. Gary is editor of the AFTER DARK series and author of the picture books BRIGHT STAR, TROY THOMPSON'S EXCELLENT POETRY BOOK, TROY THOMPSON'S RADICAL PROSE FOLIO, LEO THE LION TAMER, VALLEY OF BONES and THE RAINBOW. Other Lothian YA Fiction titles are DEAR VENNY, DEAR SAFFRON with Libby Hathorn, EDWARD BRITTON with Philip Neilsen and Gothic Hopsital. He has also written the charming historical QUETTA, illustrated by Bruce Whatley, which Lothian released in February 2002. Gary lives in Maleny, Queensland. Melbourne artist Mark Wilson has illustrated a number of educational and trade children s books, including the picture book PENGUIN SHORE by Tim O Brien. His previous Lothian Books are THE WOMBAT KING, THE VALLEY OF THE BONES, and THE LIE IN THE AFTER DARK series, as well as THE CASTAWAYS OF THE CHARLES EATON, which will be released in September 2002. Mark lives in Frankston, Victoria.

General Fields

  • : 9780734409584
  • : Hachette Australia
  • : Lothian Children's Books
  • : 0.16
  • : March 2006
  • : 232mm X 247mm X 3mm
  • : Australia
  • : October 2019
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Gary Crew
  • : Paperback
  • : 406
  • : A823
  • : 32