Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

Author(s): Stephen Yafa

History

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's "Cod" and "Salt," this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's "Cotton" gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he?d reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug?the boll weevil?world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed, conflict, and opportunism, "Cotton" offers 'a barrage of fascinating information' ("Los Angeles Times").

$24.95(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

I have to hand it to Mr. Yafa. "Cotton" rules. ("The Wall Street Journal") With wit and intelligence, Yafa demonstrates how a good deal of history can be learned by following a single thread. ("The Washington Post") A comprehensive and often surprising history [of a crop that changed the world]. ("USA Today")

General Fields

  • : 9780143037224
  • : pgnnz
  • : pgnnz
  • : 0.304
  • : July 2006
  • : 196mm X 135mm X 20mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Stephen Yafa
  • : Paperback / softback
  • : annotated edition
  • : 338.47677210
  • : 398
  • : illustrations