The Salterton Trilogy: Tempest-Tost - Leaven of Malice - A Mixture of Frailties

Author(s): Robertson Davies


In the small university town of Salterton, Ontario, dreams are quietly taking shape, or falling apart. There's the Salterton Little Theatre Company, in which professional director Valentine Rich is tormented by the amateurish efforts of his actors. The families Vambrace and Bridgetower almost go to war over a fake notice of engagement in the local paper. And a family fortune is lavished on an aspiring singer because there is no male heir to claim it. Tracing the lives and incidents of a small community in the middle of the last century, The Salterton Trilogy peels off the public veneer of geniality and respectability to reveal the private passions simmering beneath.


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The kind of writer who makes you want to nag your friends until they read him so that they share the pleasure Observer


Davies' books will be recognized with the very best works of the twentieth century New York Times Book Review


Impudent, amused, and amusing, and sterling entertainment New York Times


One of the great modern novelists - Malcolm Bradbury


Ingenuous, erudite and entertaining. Davies displays all the qualities of a latter-day Trollope -Anthony Burgess Observer

Robertson Davies was born in Thamesville, Ontario, in 1913. A novelist, playwright, literary critic and essayist, he received numerous awards for his work. It is as a writer of fiction that Robertson Davies achieved international recognition, with such books as The Salterton Trilogy (Tempest-Tost, Leaven of Malice and A Mixture of Frailties); The Deptford Trilogy (Fifth Business, The Manticore and World of Wonders); The Cornish Trilogy (The Rebel Angels, What's Bred in the Bone, shortlisted for the 1986 Booker Prize, and The Lyre of Orpheus); Murther & Walking Spirits and The Cunning Man. Robertson Davies died in 1995.

General Fields

  • : 9780241952634
  • : Penguin Books Ltd
  • : Penguin Books Ltd
  • : 0.554
  • : June 2011
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 34mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : October 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Robertson Davies
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 813.54
  • : 816