The Mountains Sing

Author(s): Nguyen Phan Que Mai

Fiction

Born in 1920, Tran Dieu Lan's family lost everything after the Communist government came to power in North Viet Nam. Forced to flee with her six children, she knows she must do whatever it takes to keep her family together. Many years later, her country is again at war, and her young granddaughter Huong watches her parents disappear down the Ho Chi Minh Trail to fight. Vivid, compelling and deeply moving, The Mountains Sing brings to life the true human cost of a devastating war, and the improbable power of hope to sustain us when all seems lost. With echoes of Homegoing and Pachinko, this is a standout new novel from a celebrated Vietnamese poet.

Set against the backdrop of the Vi Et Nam War, The Mountains Sing is the enveloping, multi-generational tale of the Tran family, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko or Vaddey Ratner's In the Shadow of the Banyan.
H Noi, 1972. Huong and her grandmother, Tran Dieu Lan, cling to one another in their improvised shelter as American bombs fall around them. Her father and mother have already left to fight in a war that is tearing not just her country but her family apart. For Tran Dieu Lan, forced to flee the family farm with her six children decades earlier as the Communist government rose to power in the North, this experience is horribly familiar. Seen through the eyes of these two unforgettable women, The Mountains Sing captures their defiance and determination, hope and unexpected joy.
Vivid, gripping, and steeped in the language and traditions of Vi Et Nam, celebrated Vietnamese poet Nguyen's richly lyrical debut weaves between the lives of grandmother and granddaughter to paint a unique picture of the country's turbulent twentieth-century history. This is the story of a people pushed to breaking point, and a family who refuse to give in.


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781786079503
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Oneworld
  • : June 2020
  • : 3 Centimeters X 15.3 Centimeters X 23.2 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Nguyen Phan Que Mai
  • : Paperback
  • : 256