Forgotten Garden

Author(s): Kate Morton


On the eve of the First World War, a little girl is found abandoned on a ship to Australia. A mysterious woman called the Authoress had promised to look after her - but has disappeared without a trace. On her twenty-first birthday, Nell Andrews learns a secret that will change her life forever. Decades later, her search for the truth leads her to the windswept Cornish coast and the strange and beautiful Blackhurst Manor, once owned by the aristocratic Mountrachet family. On Nell's death, her granddaughter, Cassandra, comes into an unexpected inheritance. Cliff Cottage and its forgotten garden are notorious amongst the Cornish locals for the secrets they hold - secrets about the doomed Mountrachet family and their ward Eliza Makepeace, a writer of dark Victorian fairytales. It is here that Cassandra will finally uncover the truth about the family, and solve the century-old mystery of a little girl lost.


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

With just three novels published, Kate Morton has sold over 4 million copies in 26 languages, across 38 countries. The first, The Shifting Fog, published internationally as The House at Riverton, was a number one bestseller in 2007. The Forgotten Garden, her second novel, was also a bestseller in Australia, the UK, the US and in many European countries. And on simultaneous publication of The Distant Hours in Australia, the UK and US in November 2010, Kate's third novel also became an immediate bestseller. Each of the three novels have won the Australian Book Industry award for General Fiction Book of the Year. Kate is currently writing her new novel which will be published in November 2012. You can find more information about Kate and her books at

General Fields

  • : 9781742379692
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : December 2012
  • : 195mm X 130mm
  • : Australia
  • : August 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Kate Morton
  • : Paperback
  • : NC
  • : en
  • : A823.00
  • : 570