Deeply personal and powerfully moving, a short and timely series of essays on the experience of lockdown, by one of the most clear-sighted and essential writers of our time From the critically acclaimed author of Feel Free, Swing Time, White Teeth and many more 'There w... read more

Intimations: Six Essays

Category:

 Fiction

Series:Seasonal Quartet


The unmissable conclusion to Ali Smith's dazzling, Man Booker-shortlisted cycle: Seasonal is crowned in 2020 with Summer.

'These novels, in straddling immediacy and permanence, the personal as well as the scope of a world tilting toward disaster, are the ones we might we... read more

Summer

Category:

 Anthologies, Essays & Journals

Europe has been thrown into sharp relief by the impact of a devastating pandemic. As country after country succumbs to the contemporary plague, deeply buried memories of death and destruction resurface.But Europe has emerged from devastation... read more

Griffith Review 69: The European Exchange

The world is out of joint, so much so that disobeying should be an urgent act for everyone. In this provocative essay, Fr d ric Gros explores the roots of political obedience, social conformity, economic subjection, respect for authorit... read more

Disobey: A Guide to Ethical Resistance

Presenter and DJ Ashley Dotty Charles explores our age of outrage, and how it's debasing civil discourse.'Funny, nuanced and wonderful' Jon Ronson
We're living in a post-modern utopia of sorts, where thanks to ou... read more

Outraged: Why Everyone Is Shouting and No One Is Talking

An epic journey of discovery into the heart of a vast and contested Australian wilderness. John Blay laces up his walking boots and goes bush to explore Australia’s rugged south east forests – stretching from Canber... read more

Wild Nature: Walking Australia's South East Forests

'In Calcutta we were crammed in among crowds, traffic and pollution. We had visions of breathing fresh, clean air and living in a classless society where everyone was your mate.' Christopher Raja was eleven years old when his father, David, decided to mo... read more

Into the Suburbs: A Migrant's Story

Category:

 Fiction

Winner of the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature and the Atta Galatta-Bangalore Literature Festival Lifetime Achievement Award, Jayant Kaikini is one of India's most celebrated short-story writers.
For readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Rohinton Mistry, as well ... read more

No Presents, Please: Mumbai Stories

Guardian Australia's Melbourne bureau chief Melissa Davey covered Cardinal George Pell's evidence at the royal commission into child sexual abuses, and attended each of his trials for his alleged historic sexual offence... read more

The Case of George Pell: Reckoning with Child Sexual Abuse by Clergy

Category:

 Fiction

Erica Marsden's son, an artist, has been imprisoned for homicidal negligence. In a state of grief, Erica cuts off all ties to family and friends, and retreats to a quiet hamlet on the south-east coast near the prison where he is serving his sentence. There, in a rundown shack, she ob... read more

The Labyrinth

Category:

 Fiction


For readers of Station Eleven and Everything I Never Told You, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds – and her own final chance for redemption.
A dark past. An impossible journey. The will to surviv... read more

The Last Migration

Category:

 Fiction

THE SUNDAY TIMESBESTSELLER Alexandr and Christine and Zachary and Lydia have been close friends since they first met in their twenties. Thirty years later Alex and Christine are spending a leisurely summer evening at home when they receive a call from a distraught Lydia. Zach is d... read more

Late in the Day