The Paperback Bookshop


  • PAPERBACK
  • BOOKSHOP
  • 60 Bourke St
  • Melbourne
  • 9662 1396
The Black Flamingo, Atta,  Dean
The Black Flamingo
Dean Atta

Hardback $24.99 - Hachette Australia
Kids - Published: 6/Aug/2019 - ISBN: 9781444948585

Fiercely told, this is a timely coming-of-age story told in verse about the journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan and POET X. Fiercely told, this is a timely coming-of-age story told in verse about the journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan and POET X.

A boy comes to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen - then at university he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo. A bold story about the power of embracing your uniqueness. Sometimes, we need to take charge, to stand up wearing pink feathers - to show ourselves to the world in bold colour.

'I masquerade in makeup and feathers and I am applauded.' Dean Atta's debut poetry collection, I Am Nobody's Nigger, was shortlisted for the Polari First Book Prize. His poems deal with themes of race, gender, identity and growing up, and have appeared on BBC One's The One Show and several times on BBC Radio 4, BBC World Service and Channel 4. Dean was named as one of the most influential LGBT people in the UK by the Independent on Sunday. He regularly performs across the UK and internationally and is currently a judge of the 2018 BBC Young Writers' Award, alongside Sarah Crossan. Fiercely told, this is a timely coming-of-age story told in verse about the journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan and POET X.

Email us or call us on (03) 9662 1396 to enquire about this book.