The Paperback Bookshop


  • PAPERBACK
  • BOOKSHOP
  • 60 Bourke St
  • Melbourne
  • 9662 1396
Ponti, Teo,  Sharlene
Ponti
Sharlene Teo

Paperback $18.99 - Pan Macmillan UK
Fiction - Published: 30/Apr/2019 - ISBN: 9781509855339

Sharlene Teo was born in Singapore in 1987. She has an LLB in Law from the University of Warwick and an MA in Creative Writing from the University of East Anglia, where she received the Booker Prize Foundation Scholarship and the David TK Wong Creative Writing award. She was shortlisted for the Berlin Writing Prize and holds fellowships from the Elizabeth Kostova Foundation and the University of Iowa International Writing Program. In 2016, she won the inaugural Deborah Rogers Writer’s Award for<i> Ponti</i>, her first novel. Set in Singapore, and spanning fifty years, <i>Ponti</i> is a sweeping story of three women and the guilt that ties them to each other. For fans of Zadie Smith and Elena Ferrante. <b>'Remarkable . . . </b><b>her characters glow with life and humour'</b><b> Ian McEwan</b>

2003. Singapore. Friendless and fatherless, sixteen-year-old Szu lives in the shadow of her mother Amisa, once a beautiful actress and now a hack medium performing séances with her sister in a rusty house. When Szu meets the privileged, acid-tongued Circe, they develop an intense friendship which offers Szu an escape from her mother’s alarming solitariness, and Circe a step closer to the fascinating, unknowable Amisa.

Seventeen years later, Circe is struggling through a divorce in fraught and ever-changing Singapore when a project comes up at work: a remake of the cult seventies horror film series ‘Ponti’, the very project that defined Amisa’s short-lived film career. Suddenly Circe is knocked off balance: by memories of the two women she once knew, by guilt, and by a past that threatens her conscience . . .

Told from the perspectives of all three women, <i>Ponti</i> by Sharlene Teo is an exquisite story of friendship and memory spanning decades. Infused with mythology and modernity, with the rich sticky heat of Singapore, it is at once an astounding portrayal of the gaping loneliness of teenagehood, and a vivid exploration of how tragedy can make monsters of us.

<b>Shortlisted for Hearsts' Big Book Award 2018.</b>

Email us or call us on (03) 9662 1396 to enquire about this book.

View more Fiction titles.

    All stocked books by Teo, Sharlene
  • Ponti Paperback $29.99
  • Ponti Paperback $18.99