The Paperback Bookshop

  • 60 Bourke St
  • Melbourne
  • 9662 1396
The Light Years, Jane Howard,  Elizabeth
The Light Years
Elizabeth Jane Howard

Paperback $18.99 - Pan Macmillan UK
Fiction - Published: 10/Jul/2018 - ISBN: 9781509870592

Elizabeth Jane Howard was the author of fifteen highly acclaimed novels. ‘The Cazalet Chronicles’ – <i>The Light Years</i>, <i>Marking Time</i>, <i>Confusion</i>, <i>Casting Off </i>and <i>All Change</i> – have become established as modern classics and have been adapted for a major BBC television series and for BBC Radio 4. In 2002 Macmillan published Elizabeth Jane Howard’s autobiography, <i>Slipstream</i>. In that same year she was awarded a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List. She died, aged ninety, at home in Suffolk on 2 January 2014. The first book in the landmark 'Cazalet Chronicles', previously a BBC radio and TV series. With the onset of war, <i>The Light Years</i> reveals a privileged family facing uncertain times. <b>With an introduction by Joanna Lumley</b>

<i>The Light Years </i>is the first novel in Elizabeth Jane Howard’s bestselling five-part series, ‘The Cazalet Chronicles’.

Home Place, Sussex, 1937.

For two unforgettable summers the Cazalets gathered together, safe from the advancing storm clouds of the Second World War. In the heart of the Sussex countryside these were still sunlit days of childish games, lavish family meals and picnics on the beach.

This is the beginning.

Howard’s beautiful saga is the story of three generations of the Cazalet family. Their relatives, their children and their servants – and the fascinating triangle of their affairs . . .

Email us or call us on (03) 9662 1396 to enquire about this book.

View more Fiction titles.

    All stocked books by Jane Howard, Elizabeth
  • The Light Years Paperback $18.99